VOTE NOW! Nicholson Nominated for Ontario Baller of the Year

VOTE NOW! Nicholson Nominated for Ontario Baller of the Year

St. Bonaventure senior Andrew Nicholson is among the nominees for Ontario Basketball's Baller of the Year.


As part of the inaugural Ontario Basketball Awards Gala, Baller of the Year will be voted on using an online poll to determine Ontario's male and female Baller of the Year. 

Each year, the Baller of the Year Award is given to an athlete who has participated at an elite level, and has achieved outstanding and extraordinary success as a competitor in the sport of basketball.  Voting for athletes must be based on their record, playing ability, integrity, character, sportsmanlike conduct and contributions to the teams on which they played and contributions to the game of basketball in general.

Voting closes Nov. 2, 2011, when the male and female Ballers of the Year will be announced.

Also nominated for male Baller of the Year are Tristan Thompson, who became Canada's highest-ever NBA draft pick (fourth), and Cory Joseph, who was selected 29th overall by the San Antonio Spurs. Texas freshman and McDonald's All-American Myck Kabongo and Pac-10 All-Freshman selection Dwight Powell of Stanford are also included.

Nominee profiles

Created nearly 70 years ago, Ontario Basketball is the sport governing body for basketball in the Province of Ontario. The membership is made up of athletes, coaches, officials, members clubs, camps, local basketball organizations, groups, leagues and basketball supporters. As part of its mandate, Ontario Basketball is committed to working with the Toronto Raptors Basketball Club and NBA Canada to further promote and develop amateur basketball in the province.

Ontario Basketball homepage